How Many Clicks?

This forum is for discussing Wave Corrector, audio projects, tips & tricks etc.

Moderator: Derek

How Many Clicks?

Postby chaswin » Thu Jan 13, 2005 6:10 pm

Hi, I'm new to Wave Corrector and have so far only corrected around 20 recordings. It is clear from my limited experience that the best indicator for a good corrected recording is the initial condition of the vinyl. I have tried a couple of cleaning approaches and am currently using the "Disk Doctors" cleaning fluid and pads, with reasonable success.

The problem is that I don't know what target to be aiming for in terms of detected clicks. So far my best has been 6000 for a complete (both sides) recording of a Suzanne Vega LP. My worst has been 100,000 for a local (South African) pressing of a 1955 Goons recording. This improved to 50,000 after a second round of cleaning.

Most of my recordings seem to be around 25,000. Is this good, bad, terrible? I don't know. Clearly lower is better, but can somebody with more experience of Wave Corrector suggest a target for me to aim at?
chaswin

Clicks versus LP Condition

Postby thorn10 » Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:14 pm

I am also fairly new, and have processed about 30 LPs. The lowest number of clicks I have logged on one side of an LP recording is about 3,000, using level 3 as the default click sensitivity setting. These albums are almost in mint condition. I don't have any fancy cleaning solutions, just a the standard velvet cloth.

Here's my take on clicks/album side versus the condition of the LP.

1. Less than 3,000: Mint LP
  2. Less than 5,000: Almost mint. Has been played a few times and has been well looked after.
  3. Around 10,000; Above average. The copy has been played a number of times on a quality turntable and has been taken care of.
  4. Up to 20,000; Average. This copy has seen had a lot of play, but still produces respectible results after correction.