Batch Fade-Out

This forum is for discussing Wave Corrector, audio projects, tips & tricks etc.

Moderator: Derek

Batch Fade-Out

Postby adaywayne » Tue Apr 12, 2005 11:18 pm

Using auto-splitting I know how to apply fade-out to each track. However, many LPs do not lend themselves to auto-splitting due to applause or other noise between tracks. In this case I split the tracks manually.

Having done this, I am trying to find a way to apply a specified fade-out to all tracks other than doing it for each individual track. I don't see a way to do this in batch mode. Am I missing something? If not, would this be a difficult thing to add to the batch processing feature?
Arnold
adaywayne
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 8:53 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Postby citguy » Wed Apr 13, 2005 7:07 am

Hi Arnold. I have had the same problem but have used the track properties (assuming all the tracks will have the same length of fade in and fade out). I have my default set for 1 sec silence, 1 or 2 seconds fade in, 1 or 2 seconds fade out, 1 sec of silence. I just highlight each track and click "timing" then click next track and click "timing again". You do have to be careful that the track bounderys have enough empty space at the beginning and end of each track to accomodate the fades or you will loose recorded material. I though one option could be to have a "select all tracks" option under track properties and then just click timing once.
Stan
citguy
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:32 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Postby adaywayne » Fri Apr 15, 2005 3:36 pm

citguy wrote:Hi Arnold. I have had the same problem but have used the track properties (assuming all the tracks will have the same length of fade in and fade out). I have my default set for 1 sec silence, 1 or 2 seconds fade in, 1 or 2 seconds fade out, 1 sec of silence. I just highlight each track and click "timing" then click next track and click "timing again". You do have to be careful that the track bounderys have enough empty space at the beginning and end of each track to accomodate the fades or you will loose recorded material. I though one option could be to have a "select all tracks" option under track properties and then just click timing once.
Stan


~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks for the response Stan. If I understand you correctly, you do this after WaveCorrector has already automatically detected the track boundaries and split the file into tracks. Therein lies my problem. I am often working with a mulitude of single tracks that don't need splitting, so I am looking for a way of using fade-out on a batch of individual tracks.
Arnie
adaywayne
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 8:53 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Postby citguy » Fri Apr 15, 2005 4:27 pm

Hi Arnie. I usually shut the "track detector" off from "opt" in the tool bar before loading the wave files. I find the automatic detection doesn't leave me enough room for fades so I have to adjust each boundary anyway. I have ofter wished for an "adjustable" boundary length that could be used with the automatic track detection. You wrote
often working with a mulitude of single tracks that don't need splitting,
Are these separate wave files or just several cuts that make up one continuous wave file? I don't think there is a way to fade "cuts" that are part of a larger wave. You could make individual tracks, fade them, then put them all together again with a program called "Wavmerge" but that's a lot of work.
Stan
citguy
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:32 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Postby adaywayne » Fri Apr 15, 2005 5:39 pm

citguy wrote:Hi Arnie. I usually shut the "track detector" off from "opt" in the tool bar before loading the wave files. I find the automatic detection doesn't leave me enough room for fades so I have to adjust each boundary anyway. I have ofter wished for an "adjustable" boundary length that could be used with the automatic track detection. You wrote
often working with a mulitude of single tracks that don't need splitting,
Are these separate wave files or just several cuts that make up one continuous wave file? I don't think there is a way to fade "cuts" that are part of a larger wave. You could make individual tracks, fade them, then put them all together again with a program called "Wavmerge" but that's a lot of work.
Stan

~~~~~~~~~~
They are usually a variety of indidivdual tracks from a mix of LPs and cassettes. I usually record a few extra seconds at the end of eack track so that I can later fade-out any applause from live recordings. I the trim the ends so that I have exactly 2 seconds that I would like to fade-out. The batch mode allows applicatio of various filters, channel balance, normalise etc. I would just like it to include the fade-ou/fade-in feature as well.
Arnie
adaywayne
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 8:53 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA


Return to Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron