song separations

Please post your support queries here.

Moderator: Derek

song separations

Postby lltunes » Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:49 pm

After recording all my songs, I save them as .wav files. My goal is to split each file into a separate song files to name them individually. BUT once I scan, the corrected file is split into tracks and copied to the OUTPUT folder. These tracks do not represent song divisions but the track detections. I cannot figure out why these tracks would be used as some are blank. I presume they are lead-in noise. I am a real newbie at all this and don't yet understand ALL that WaveCorrector can do.

My question is, does anyone know if there is an option to save a fully cleaned file to one file rather than the individual tracks? Then I could select, cut and paste each song to a separate file.

Can anyone guide me as to how to select, cut and paste a song to a new file which I can name separately from the original file containing all songs recorded from a tape or record? I have tried and tried and cannot find a way.
lltunes

Postby Derek » Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:23 am

To save the entire LP as a single file, you use the ReScan tracks command on the Waveform menu and set the Track detection Threshold to '0' (off). This will remove all track markers and when you 'Save & Close' a single file will be produced in your output folder.

However, what you really want to do is produce separate track files, one for each song. It sounds as though the track detector is not working effectively.

Wave Corrector will automatically separate album files into separate tracks assuming the tracks consist of regular music with a second or two of silence between each. The program detects this silence and starts a new track accordingly.

The tracks are displayed in alternating colours in the bottom overview window, and they are appended to the Tracks menu so you can see the number of tracks and the length of each one.