Abended Recording

Please post your support queries here.

Moderator: Derek

Abended Recording

Postby renowden » Thu Jan 17, 2008 10:41 pm

I was recording via Wavecor when my m/c decided to Blue Screen - I doubt that was the fault of Wavecor, it is a bit unstable at the moment.

My question is "would you expect me to be able to pick up the partial WAV file?" i.e. does it continually close out the file whilst going along.

When I tried I found that Wavecor went into some type of loop when trying to read it in, finding no clicks but repeatedly restarting from the beginning of the file - rather quickly actually as if it wasn't reading the file at all. Actually it won't open in Audacity either so it looks like it is corrupted which sort of answers my question.
Cheers,

Rick Parsons

Bristol, England
renowden
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Bristol, England

Postby Derek » Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:28 am

The data should be present in the file but unfortunately the header information will be incorrect. If you have Goldwave, you can load it in as raw data and then save it as a normal wave file. You'll have to specify it as 16-bit stereo and the bit rate you recorded it at.

all the best
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom

Postby renowden » Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:21 pm

If you can find a way to read in these aborted wav files then I would be immensely grateful. It is sooo frustrating to get to nearly the end of a 40 minute album and have the PC crash, then have to start all over again. I don't have that program you mention and it seems to duplicate everything else I have selected for quality and got used to - including Wave Corrector.
Cheers,

Rick Parsons

Bristol, England
renowden
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Bristol, England

Postby Derek » Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:23 am

Hello

If you are on a broadband link, you could upload the file to the website for me to fix up. If you want to do this, send me a pm and I'll send you the password for the Wave Corrector upload page. Bear in mind, it will take quite a long time to upload a 40 minute wave file, even on a broadband link.
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom

Postby renowden » Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:26 am

Thanks for the offer Derek but at my upload speeds (even with broadband) it would be quicker to redo it.

I would be quite happy to upload one (preferably shorter) if you need it for analysis. As these files are generated by WaveCor in the first place, I would think it should be possible to retro-fix somehow when re-opened. As you said before it is possibly a header missing so the bit rate could be prompted for. The symptoms are that it slowly works through the file but when it gets to the end it restarts at the beginning again for ever so it could also be a truncated or corrupted block at the end.
Cheers,

Rick Parsons

Bristol, England
renowden
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Bristol, England

Postby Derek » Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:40 pm

No you don't need you to upload a short sample. I can easily create one myself. I'll try to implement a fix like you suggest. It shouldn't be too difficult.

Stay tuned!
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom

Postby Derek » Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:41 pm

Hello again

Today, I've been working on the next version of Wave Corrector and I've implemented the functionality you require.:D

You can download a special preview here:

http://www.wavecor.co.uk/WCPreBeta.exe.zip

Let me know if it solves your problem.
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom

Postby renowden » Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:44 pm

Thanks - service indeed. I will give it a try.
Cheers,

Rick Parsons

Bristol, England
renowden
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Bristol, England

Postby renowden » Sat Mar 15, 2008 12:18 pm

Hi Derek, the new feature (recovering from corrupt WAV files) is perfect - except for the grammar of the warning message

"The program will performing ..." :)

Thanks for accommodating me.
Cheers,

Rick Parsons

Bristol, England
renowden
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Bristol, England

Postby interactive dj » Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:46 am

I have not have cause to use the new header recovery option but I have found this utility which may or may not assist in these situations, of course the wave header may have been corrupted by another program or faulty storage medium.
http://www.railjonrogut.com/WAV%20Saver.htm
Regards

Martin
interactive dj
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 9:50 pm
Location: England


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron