New User, Not a Wave Corrector Problem, Just Phone to PC Pro

Please post your support queries here.

Moderator: Derek

New User, Not a Wave Corrector Problem, Just Phone to PC Pro

Postby TnC » Thu Feb 07, 2008 5:08 pm

I am New to PC Recording. When I connect the Headphone output to the line input of my PC I get a loud hum that greatly distorts the sound. Also adjusting the volume is difficult, it goes from just bearly regesting on the level bars to overload with just a little increase. Any help would be great.

I am using a Compaq Presario SR1030NX running XP Home with no added sound card. The onboard Sound device is a Realtek AC97 Audio for VIA (R) audio Controller

Thank u 4 your support
Tom
TnC

Postby citguy » Thu Feb 07, 2008 5:33 pm

Hi Tom. What is the sound source you are recording from? What output connection are you using on your sound source?
Stan
citguy

Re: Not a Wave Corrector Problem, Just Phone to PC Problem

Postby TnC » Thu Feb 07, 2008 5:49 pm

I have Technics Turntable connected to a Technics SA-370 Reciever. I am connecting the headphone output to the Line input on my PC. Also maybe of interest, my pc is pluged into a Belkin UPS, the phono & Reciever are pluged into multioutlet surge protecter. The sound from the turntable thru the reciever to the speakers is fine until I connect to the PC. I hope this helps!!

Tom
TnC

Postby citguy » Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:40 pm

Hi Tom. My opinion is that you have an impedance mismatch using the headphone output. Do you have a "line out" you could use which which sometimes bypasses the tone and vol controls on your amp. I think others in the forum will have opinions on this also.
Stan
citguy

Not a Wave Corrector Problem, Just Phone to PC Pro

Postby TnC » Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:10 pm

Thanks CtyGuy:

I have a record out output but I need a different adapter to connect to it. I will let you know how it works out when I can get the new adapter and try it.

Thanks for the input weither it works or not.

Tom
TnC