Page 1 of 1

"Program not responding error" on block operation

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 8:30 am
by paultaiwan2003
When I try to perform a re-scan on a block (the block is one track of less than 3 minutes), my computer hangs and tell me the program is not responding and needs to terminate.

The purpose of the re-scan is to increase the detection from 3 to 5 on the block. It hangs as soon as the message appears that it is removing old corrections.

I have 1 Gb of physical memory.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:00 pm
by Derek
Hello

I think this is probably because you didn't wait long enough for the rescan to complete. The rescan process is quite intensive because all the previous corrections have to be removed; and after the new corrections are created, the correction list has to be re-sorted to insert them all in the right place. Unfortunately, while this is happening, there is no feedback apart from the hourglass.

Please can you try this again and give it a few minutes to complete. Then get back to me if you still have the problem.

best regards and happy new year!

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:48 pm
by paultaiwan2003
Thanks, that seems to be correct. I just didn't expect that it would take more than 5 minutes.

I guess I suspected that the system hung because the Windows task bar wouldn't pop up when I moved the cursor to the bottom of the screen. Then when I clicked on cancel, nothing happened except the appearance of the hourglass.

Perhaps it would be helpful to have some indication of activity or progress.

Thanks again.