FIXING PERSONAL CASSETTE RECORDINGS??????

Please post your support queries here.

Moderator: Derek

FIXING PERSONAL CASSETTE RECORDINGS??????

Postby ROSEBUD77 » Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:26 am

I AM HAVING A PROBLEM FIXING A PERSONAL CASSETTE TAPE OF A JAM SESSION I RECORDED YEARS AGO. SOUNDS LIKE THEY ARE PLAYING IN A BOX....ANY STEP BY STEP DIRECTIONS WOULD HELP. I HAVE TRIED ALMOST EVERYTHING. AND I AM JUST A BEGINNER AT THIS. :?
ROSEBUD77

Postby citguy » Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:06 pm

I just did a similar tape (recorded years agoin a gymnasium). I defined my tracks (eliminating applause etc), normalized, found a "new profile" for hiss and hum, tested extensively (4 second) decided on minimum hum filter with minimum hiss. The problem with room resonance (which can resemble hum) is you always risk removing musical material (especially at lower frequencies). I have wanted to try the "graphic equalizer" for some of these difficult tapes but haven't been successful just "toying" with it. My advice would be test various combinations of filters to get as close as you can to an improved sound.
Stan
citguy

Postby Derek » Thu Feb 03, 2005 9:54 am

Yes, I would just add the following two points to what Stan has said:

1. It is important to understand that the tape noise filters in Wave Corrector are only good for removing hiss, hum or other constant noise. The program works by finding a 'noise profile', ie a short sections where the noise is present but no music. The program measures the noise during this interval and generates a mask that is subtracted from the rest of the file. You will see that this is only effective if the noise is constant throughout the file.