Beta Spectrogram

Use this forum to post comments or suggestions about the current beta

Moderator: Derek

Beta Spectrogram

Postby stevegunner » Sat Apr 26, 2008 5:21 pm

Derek,

Firstly, many thanks for the constant improvements. I can only wish for similar service from some other developers!

A small thought on the new spectrogram view. I like it a lot, but would it be possible to replace the "cannot be displayed at this scale" blank by the normal overview (perhaps with an "spectrogram unavailable" flag). Then it would be possible to drill down to find a click, while still retaining the "normal" view when re-expanding to view the entire file.

And I renew a previous request. The vertical scale is retained between loads, but the horizontal scale always reverts to a pretty low value. Is there any chance of keeping the selected horizontal scale when loading a new file?

Thanks again for the updates,

Steve G
stevegunner
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:32 pm

Postby Derek » Mon Apr 28, 2008 8:35 am

Hello Steve

Thanks for the suggestions. I think auto-switching between overview and spectrogram depending on scale might be a little confusing. But I'll think about it and see what I can do.

Regarding the horizontal scale, yes, I can't see why it shouldn't be saved between sessions. I'll take another look at it.

Thanks again.
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom

Spectrogran auto-switching

Postby stevegunner » Wed Apr 30, 2008 7:09 pm

Derek,

Thanks for the encouraging reply.

Just to clear up a possible misunderstanding - I was not looking for a permanent auto-switch between overview and spectrogram depending on scale. The idea was that if you selected spectrogram and the scale was not compatible, then you would remain in overview (with some kind of flag/message indicating that this was because of the scale) until a compatible scale was reached, when the display would automatically change to the spectrogram.

Of course if you had any other view selected, then you would remain in that view as the scale changed.

By the way, I have just returned from many years overseas and been reunited with my old LP collection. I thought I might rerecord them as several of the original CDs have become unreadable (I now buy better quality CD-Rs!). The difference in quality between the results I have obtained with the new beta over the past week and what I got 7 years ago with an earlier version Wave Corrector is remarkable.

I renew my congratulations on your constant effort to improve the program. I noticed elsewhere on the forum that someone was complaining about the price - ignore them. For the effort you put in, Wave Corrector is worth every penny, cent, centime, piastre, anna, etc.....

Steve G
stevegunner
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:32 pm

Re: Spectrogran auto-switching

Postby Glenn » Thu May 01, 2008 4:50 pm

stevegunner wrote: ......if you selected spectrogram and the scale was not compatible, then you would remain in overview (with some kind of flag/message indicating that this was because of the scale) until a compatible scale was reached, when the display would automatically change to the spectrogram.

Of course if you had any other view selected, then you would remain in that view as the scale changed.


I think this is a great idea. The spectrogram is such a powerful tool it only makes sense to leave the overview window in this mode for close-in editing. Zooming out would automatically position one to hunt down the next trouble spot. This way one could work quickly through the file without continually having to resort to the menu to change view settings.

I'd like to add that when spectrogram switches back to overview the "track/alltracks" radio button should also default to the last user setting.

Sorry we keep finding more work for you, Derek :)

Glenn
Glenn
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 3:07 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby Derek » Sat May 03, 2008 11:28 am

OK, you've convinced me! I'll see what I can do. I'm not promising though as it might turn out to be quite complicated.

Watch this space.
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom

Postby Derek » Fri May 09, 2008 8:22 am

I think this is now implemented now. See the latest beta.
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom

Thanks for the new Spectrogram coding

Postby stevegunner » Fri May 09, 2008 3:46 pm

Derek,

The new spectrogram coding is spot-on for me, exactly what I wanted. Many thanks.

Steve G
stevegunner
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:32 pm


Return to Beta Comments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron