Set Volume button won't open

Please post your support queries here.

Moderator: Derek

Set Volume button won't open

Postby alankendall » Wed Jan 01, 2014 4:08 pm

It's been a while since I used wave corrector. I am trying to change the input used, but I find that when I click on the Set Volume button, nothing happens. There is a brief hourglass, but the new window expected does not open. I am using Professional Version 3.7 (R001) and I ran an update on it.

Any suggestions?
alankendall
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:36 pm
Location: United States

Postby Derek » Wed Jan 01, 2014 8:07 pm

I don't know why this is happening but if you use the 'Devices...' command on the File menu, this will show the command that the program is using to launch the volume control. It's shown near the bottom of the Devices window under the label 'Record Volume Control'. The actual command varies depending on your operating system.

Can you tell me your operating system (xp, 7 ,8, etc), and I can tell you what command you should be seeing.
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom

Postby alankendall » Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:26 am

Thanks for your prompt response.

The command used is sndvol32.exe /r

My operating system is XP home.
alankendall
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:36 pm
Location: United States

Postby Derek » Thu Jan 02, 2014 8:54 pm

alankendall wrote:Thanks for your prompt response.

The command used is sndvol32.exe /r

My operating system is XP home.


That's the correct command for an XP computer so it's difficult to know what might be wrong.

It may be that there's a problem with your XP installation. Or it may be that you've installed a soundcard that overrides the XP defaults.

If you go into the Windows Control Panel, you should be able to get to the volume controls by selecting, 'Sounds Speech and Audio Devices' and then selecting, 'Adjust the System Volume'. Then select the 'Audio' tab and click the 'Volume' button under 'Sound Recording'.

If this works, try selecting the 'Run...' option on the Windows Start Menu and then entering the command:

sndvol32.exe /r

This should also launch the recording volume controls.

These tests should help to isolate where the problem lies.
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom

Postby alankendall » Fri Jan 03, 2014 2:31 pm

Thanks for your advise, Derek. I actually ran the sndvol32.exe once manually without the /r command and now everything seems to work fine. Go figure.
alankendall
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:36 pm
Location: United States

Postby Derek » Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:56 pm

Great! Good luck with your restorations.
Derek Higgins
Wave Corrector Developer
http://www.wavecor.co.uk
Derek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Coleshill, United Kingdom


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron